Food / Beer Pairing

This is a subject that really interests me.  Finding the right beer to compliment what you’re eating can have some amazing effects.  Along the lines of beer apps suck, until last night I couldn’t find one app that had a comprehensive pairing guide that I could just pull out before dinner to see what beer in my fridge would go with our dinner.  All apps that had a pairing feature in them were pretty awful.  Either poorly organized or not enough content.  Last night, however, I checked out Gallagher’s Beer Guide.  It’s actually pretty old, for App Store standards, at version 1.0 and not updated since 2009, so it doesn’t even support iOS features like multitasking.  But, though I never checked it out due to its silly-looking interface, I happened to notice last night during a search that it had pairing in it.  The screenshots for that feature looked pretty good, so though the reviews were pretty bad, for $0.99, I decided to check it out.  I was very pleasantly surprised.  The pairing feature is by far the best I’ve found in an iPhone app.  Well-organized and quite comprehensive.

It actually sort of passed my initial test for cataloging apps: it contained beers from Sixpoint.  But only three. The only other function of note is the Flavors tab.  Not sure how much I’d use it, but it lists different flavors you might notice in beers, and which styles in which they tend to appear.  The Flavors tab also has a Wine to Beer converter, listing wine types and associated beer styles.  I like Malbec. It listed Dark Lager for that, which I definitely don’t like.

With all this app has, or doesn’t have, if they forked the Food tab off into its own app, I’d still pay more than $0.99 for it.  Well done, Gallagher.  But how about an update?

 

Leave a Reply

