How I log beers

I love to log stuff in databases. Partly because my memory has gotten worse as I’ve gotten older, and partly because I love to simply organize information. My main database is HanDBase on my iPhone. It’s an amazingly powerful yet affordable mobile database for most mobile OSs. Besides the obvious beer database, the two other big ones I keep are a log of my races (I’m a runner – plus runners tend to love beer) and a list of the live bands I’ve seen. This is a sample record from my beer database:

20110620-233353.jpg

 

I designed this form myself.  The background image is from a pic I took of a huge wooden fermenting tank at the Dogfish Head brewery.  I’m still unsure about the IBU field since I’ve learned more and more how you really can’t tell that much from it. One of my favorite beers is Oskar Blues Gordon (G’Knight), a huge Double IPA and only 60 IBU. Go figure.  The Rating field goes from “Love it” to “Swill”.

Anyway, I’m quite happy with the setup. If anyone uses HanDBase or plans to, I’d be happy to share the beer database.  They’re conveniently sharable via email.

Leave a Reply

