Goose Island Sofie

Last night, Christina and I had the Goose Island Sofie and it was fantastic.  Sofie is one of their series of Belgian Style ales, this one being a saison, or farmhouse ale. I’m a big fan of this style, my favorite so far being the Saison Dupont, but the Sofie is a definite rival, especially impressive that it comes from an American (Chicago) brewery.

The first of these Belgian styles I had was their Matilda, a pale ale, which I also loved.  I then tried their Pere Jacques, an Abbey Ale, which I didn’t love so much.  But then again, that was the 2010, so I suspect that it would taste much better having sat for a year or two.  Most of their Belgian styles they say will develop in the bottle for up to five years, I’m sure increasing in complexity.

Overall, I’m extremely impressed with Goose Island and will try anything from them.  I could drink their IPA all day long.

Leave a Reply

