New York Brewfest

A little late, but I went to the New York Brewfest last Sunday.  Christina got me the Connoisseur Pass, for which I am eternally grateful.  This is why.  Until the severe crowding later on, I had a great time.  My only two disappointments were that many of the breweries had  event volunteers pouring, with no representatives there, and that they mostly had their common beers.  I was really hoping for some interesting one-offs, like from Sixpoint.  All Sixpoint had were their Sweet Action and Righteous Rye.  Both great beers, but I’ve had them tons of times.

We were given hard plastic 4 oz. tasting cups.  I intended to try a lot  of beers, so the ones I wasn’t excited about, I dumped out after about half.  I don’t have a very high tolerance for alcohol (the downside to loving beer and whiskey), so this would help.  The standouts for me were the Elysian Imortal IPA and Weihenstephan Dunkel.  Everything I’ve had from both of these breweries has been fantastic.  Elysian’s Drangonstooth Stout is my favorite stout, and all of Weihenstephan’s beers for me are the best of their type.  Christina’s favorite was the Tröegs Sunshine Pils.  Tasting was getting hard after a while with so many beers; I felt my taste buds were getting a little tainted.  Below is the rest of the ones I tried, rated from 1-5, which is how I have to do it because of Bento:

Cape Ann Fisherman’s Bavarian Wheat – 3/5

Kelso Saison – 3/5

Oskar Blues Mama’s Little Yella Pils – 4/5

Elysian The Immortal IPA – 5/5

Weihenstephaner Hefeweissbier Dunkel – 5/5

Greenport Harbor Ale – 3/5

Schneider Hopfen-Weisse – 4/5

Boulder Mojo IPA – 4/5

Great Divide Samurai Ale – 4/5

Erie Mad Anthony’s APA – 3/5

Nebraska Hop God – 3/5

River Horse Tripel Horse – 3/5

Left Hand Chainsaw Ale – 4/5

Southern Tier Hop Sun – 3/5

Popering’s Hommel Bier – 4/5

Southampton Abbot 12 – 4/5

Tröegs Hop Back Amber –  4/5

Tröegs Sunshine Pils – 3/5

 

Leave a Reply

